Skip to content
Contact Us   |  Councillors / Meetings   |  Compliments and complaints   |  Voting / Elections   |  About us   |  Finance / Performance
Contact the Elections Team


Related pages

Forthcoming elections

A by-election will take place in Sheppey East Borough Ward on 3 May 2018. You can read the Notice of Election here.

The deadline for nominations for Sheppey East Borough Ward has now passed. For more information on the nominations, you can read the Appointment of Election Agents, Statement of Persons Nominated and Notice of Poll.

Previous elections

Information about recently completed elections and referendums in Swale.

Milton Regis by-election

An election is to be held for a Borough Councillor for the Milton Regis Ward on Thursday, 3 August 2017.

General Election

A general election took place on Thursday, 8 June.

For more information on the Faversham and Mid Kent Constituency election, visit the Maidstone Borough Council website.

Selling Parish Council

The Selling Parish Council election was uncontested and you can view the result here.

Kent County Council elections

Elections for Kent County councillors took place on Thursday, 4 May, and the results are available on the Kent County Council website

Faversham Creek Neighbourhood Plan referendum

The Faversham Creek Neighbourhood Plan referendum took place on Thursday, 4 May 2017

To the question: "Do you want Swale Borough Council to use the neighbourhood plan for Faversham Creek to help it decide planning applications in the neighbourhood area?"

  • In favour: 5,418 (88%)
  • Not in favour: 706 (12%)

Faversham Town Council By-election

The Election of a Town Councillor for the Abbey Ward seat on Faversham Town Council took place on Thursday, 19 January 2017.

EU Referendum

The referendum on whether the UK should stay in or leave the European Union took place on 23 June 2016.

There were 75,913 votes cast in Swale for the referendum from a total of 102,209 eligible electors, which represents a 74.27% turnout.

The result for Swale was as follows:


There were 44 spoilt ballot papers.

Election notices

Leysdown Parish By-election

The Election for the election of a Parish Councillor for Leysdown Parish Council was held on Thursday, 21 July 2016.

For more information on any upcoming elections or help with registering contact our Electoral Services team or phone 01795 417316.

Police and Crime Commissioner

Matthew Richard Scott has been elected to serve as Police and Crime Commissioner for the Kent police area. You can view the Kent count results on the Kent Police and Crime Commissioner Election website.

Feedback form:
Was this information helpful?
Thanks for letting us know your views!
This feedback will be used to improve our online service. We cannot respond to specific requests.
It's good but
How can we make this section better?
A to Z of Services :
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z